[NOTE: Underlined letter indicates a stronger pronounciation of the letter (Mahaa Praana). For example, say Th as in Thunder or Thumb etc. Say Th as in Parthy, Satya etc. Please listen to the audio for correct pronounciation. You will need Real Player to listen to the audio]

                 Listen to all Slokas in Chapter 12
[File size: 1.7 Mbytes. Right click and save the file locally]

Shree Gurubhyo Namaha Harihi Om
Atha Dvaa-dasha Adhyaa-yaha

Meaning: Salutations to the Guru (Divine preceptor). And here the 12th Chapter.

    Arjuna Uvaacha
  1. Yevam Sathatha Yukthaa Ye' Bhakthaah-stvaam Paryupaasate
    Ye' Chaapya-ksharam Avyaktham Teshaam Ke' Yoga Vittamaaha

    Meaning: Arjuna said: Dear Lord, Who is better versed in Yoga - the ones who worship You in constant devotion with your form or the ones who worship You as the formless?

    Sri Bhagavaan Uvaacha
  2. Mayyaa Veshya Mano Ye' Maam Nithya Yukthaa Upaasathe
    Shraddha-yaa Parayopethaaha The' Me' Yuktha Thamaa-mathaaha

    Meaning:Sri Bhagavan said: Those who fix their minds on me and worship me (with form) ever with supreme faith, I consider them as perfect in Yoga.(Yoga meaning-- Union with God)

  3. Ye' Tvakshram Anirdeshyam Avyaktham Paryu-paasathe
    Sarvathra-gam Achintyam Cha Kootastham Achalam Dhruvam

    Meaning:But those who worship me as the formless, as the unchanging, the imperishable and the Omnipresent ONE...

  4. Samniyam-yendriya-graamam Sarvathra Sama Buddhayaha
    Tey' Prapnu-vanthi Maame'va Sarva Bhootha-hite' Rathaha

    Meaning:Those who have restrained their senses, who are even minded everywhere, who are engaged in the welfare of all the beings, verily, they also come to Me.

  5. Kleshodhi-katharah-stheshaam Avyakthaa-saktha Chethasaam
    Avyakthaa Hi Gathir Duhkham Deha Vadbhira-vaapyate

    Meaning: But for human beings, it is more difficult to realize the formless God than the One with form.

  6. Yethu Sarvaani Karmaani Mayi Sanyasya Math-paraa-ha
    Ananye-naiva Yogena Maam Dhyaa-yantha Upaasathe'

    Meaning:But those who worship me, renouncing all actions in Me, regarding Me as the Supreme Goal, meditating on Me with single minded devotion...

  7. Theshaa-maham Samud-dharthaa Mruthyu Samsaara Saagaraath
    Bhavaami Na Chiraath Paartha Mayya-veshitha Chetasaam

    Meaning: For them whose thought is so set on Me, O Partha (another name for Arjuna), I will become very soon, the One to deliver them from this cycle of birth and death.

  8. Mayyeva Mana Aadhat-sva Mayi Buddhim Niveshaya
    Nivasi-shyasi Mayyeva Atha Urdhvam Na Samsha-yaha

    Meaning:Fix your mind on Me alone, Let your thoughts dwell in Me. (By doing so) You will live in Me here after. Of this, there is no doubt.

  9. Atha Chittam Samaa-dhaathum Na Shaknoshi Mayi Sthiram
    Abhyaasa Yogena Tato Maam-Icchaaptum Dhananjaya

    Meaning:But if you are not able to fix your mind steadily on Me, O Dhananajaya (another name for Arjuna), then seek to reach Me by Abhyaasa Yoga (through constant practice).

  10. Abhyaasepya-samarthosi Math-karma Paramo Bhava
    Madartha-mapi Karmaani Kurvan Siddhim Avaap-syasi

    If you are unable to do constant practice, be intent on doing all actions for my sake; even by performing actions for my sake, you will attain perfection.

  11. Athaita-dapya Shaktosi Karthum Madyoga-maashritaha
    Sarva-karma Phala Thyaagam Thathah Kuru Yathaathma-vaan

    Meaning: If you are unable to do even this, surrender thyself to me in love, not worrying about the fruits of actions with the self subdued.

  12. Shreyo Hi Gnaanam Abhyaa-saath Gnaanaad Dhyaanam Vishishyathe
    Dhyaanaath Karma-phala-thyaagaha Thyaagaat Shaanti-ranantaram

    Meaning: Better indeed is knowledge than formal practice; better than knowledge is meditation; better than meditation is the renunciation of the fruit of the action (surrender in love); peace immediately follows this.

  13. Adveshtaa Sarva Bhoothaa-naam Maitrah Karuna Yeva Cha
    Nirmamo Nirahan-kaaraha Sama Duhkha Sukhah Kshami

    Meaning: He who hates no being, who is friendly and compassionate to all, who is free from the feeling of I and mine, even-minded in pain and pleasure and forbearing...

  14. Santushtah Sathatham Yogi Yathaa-thmaa Dhrida Nischayaha
    Mayyar-pitah Mano Buddhir Yo Madbhaktah Sa Me Priyaha

    Meaning: Ever content, steady in meditation, self controlled and possessed of firm conviction, with mind and intellect fixed on me, such a devotee is dear to me.

  15. Yasmaanno Dvijate Loko Lokaanno Dvijate Cha Yaha
    Harshaa-marshah Bhayo-dvegair Muktho Yah Sa Cha Me Priyaha

    Meaning: He by whom the world is not afflicted and whom the world cannot afflict, he who is free from joy, anger, fear and anxiety - he is dear to me.

  16. Anapekshah Shuchir Daksha Udaaseeno Gata Vyathaha
    Sarvaa-rambha Pari Thyaagi Yo Madbhakthah Sa Me Priyaha

    He who has no wants, who is pure and prompt, unconcerned, untroubled, and who is selfless in all his undertakings, he who is thus devoted to Me, is dear to Me.

  17. Yo Na Hrishyati Na Dveshti Na Shochati Na Kaankshati
    Shubha-ashubha Pari-thyaagi Bhakti-maan Yah Sa Me' Priyaha

    Meaning:He who neither rejoices nor hates nor grieves nor desires, renouncing good and evil (treating both as the same), full of devotion, he is dear to Me.

  18. Samah Shatrau Cha Mitre Cha Thathaa Maanaapa-maana-yoho
    Sheetho-shna Sukha-duhkheshu Samah Sanga Vivarjitaha

    Meaning: He who is the same to foe and friend and also in honor and dishonor, who is the same in cold and heat, in pleasure and pain, who is free from attachment...

  19. Thulya Nindaa Sthuthir Mounee Santhushto Yena Kena Chith
    Aniketah Sthirah Mathir Bhakthi-maan Me Priyo Naraha

    Meaning: To whom blame and praise are equal, who is silent, content with anything, free of selfish attachment, steady-minded and full of devotion-such a one is dear to Me.

  20. Ye Tu Dharmyaam Amritam-idam Yathoktam Paryupaasathey
    Shraddha Daana Mat Parama Bhaktaastetiva Mey Priyaaha

    Meaning: Those, who follow this immortal dharma described above with devotion and faith, looking upon Me as the Supreme Goal, they are exceedingly dear to Me.

Iti Srimad Bhagavad Geetaasu Upanishadsu
Brahma Vidyaayaam Yoga Shastrey
Sri Krishaarjuna Samvaadey
Bhakti Yogo Naama Dvaadshodhyaayaha
Harihi Aum Tat Sat

Meaning: Thus ends the dialogue between Sri Krishna and Arjuna in the Upanishad of the Bhagavad Gita, which imparts the knowledge of the Brahman, the Supreme and the science of Yoga, the twelfth chapter designated as Bhakti Yoga (The Yoga of devotion).